Switzerland officially the Swiss Confederation is a country in Europe. Modern Switzerland is a federal directorial republic. The country is situated in Western and Central Europe where it is bordered by Italy to south, France to the West, Germany to the North and Austria to the East. Bern is the capital of Switzerland whereas Zurich is the largest city. The official languages are German, French, Italian, and Romansh.

Extending from the north and south side of Alps in west-central Europe, it has a great diversity of landscapes and climates. The Swiss climate is generally temperate, but can vary between the localities, from the glacial conditions on the mountains to the often pleasant near the Mediterranean climate at the Switzerland’s southern tip.


The Swiss education system can be divided roughly into four levels: Primary, Secondary, Tertiary and Quaternary.

The choice of tertiary-level education is large and varied. The institutes of higher education can be separated into two types having the same status but with different educational goals; the traditional universities and the universities of applied sciences. The main task of the universities is to carry out basic research and teaching while the universities of applied sciences place a greater emphasis on practically oriented studies and on applied research and development. By providing practice oriented university education they prepare students for employment requiring the application of scientific findings and methods or the use of the applied arts.

Most of the cantonal universities offer majors in law and social sciences, mathematics and natural sciences, and the humanities. In addition to the traditional universities and universities of applied sciences, there are a number of smaller, internationally renowned institutions that provide specific territory –level education and are entitled to Diplomas. These receive state subsidies and some are affiliated to a university.