Netherland is the main constituent country of the kingdom of the Netherlands. It is small, densely populated country located in Western Europe with three island territories in the Caribbean. They share borders with Germany to the east, Belgium to the south and North Sea to the Northwest. Amsterdam is the capital and the largest city of Netherlands. The official language is Dutch.

The predominant wind direction in the Netherlands is southwest, which causes a moderate maritime climate, with cool summers and mild winters and typically high humidity. The Netherlands has 20 national parks and hundreds of other nature reserves which include lakes, woods, dunes and other habitats.


Higher education in the Netherlands is offered at two institutions: Research-oriented education offered by Research Universities and high professional education by universities of applied Sciences. At a research university you will focus more on research oriented work which could be either in an academic or in a professional setting. At a university of applied sciences you can choose a professional program in the applied arts and sciences, to prepare students for a specific career.

A third, smaller branch of higher education is provided by institutes for international education, which offer programs designed especially for international students. Both research universities and universities of applied sciences can award a bachelor’s and master’s degree.